Tamarillo time

The tamarillos are ripening. They look unusually attractive dangling from the strange-looking large-leaved shrubs. Because of our parrot problem, I’ve had them enclosed in bags, but they have very thick skins so maybe they’d be OK without protection. I’m not taking any chances though.

A friend gave me a couple of fruits 2 years ago and I grew a number of plants from the seed. They flowered 18 months after being planted out and this is the result.

They’re said to be short-lived so I’m going to put more seed in and plant several more.

Later edit:

It’s early June and for the last couple of weeks we’ve been enjoying the fruits atop our breakfast muesli. The skins are tough and bitter and not recommended to be eaten. I cut off the stem end, slice in half lengthways, scoop out the pulp with a spoon, sprinkle some sugar over and leave overnight in the fridge. They have a tropical, passionfruity taste which makes our usual stewed apples look decidedly ordinary.

