Ethical Consumer Guide

Although my ultimate aim is to grow most of the fresh food I eat, I still need to buy certain food products while I’m in the ‘weaning-off process’, so I’m trying to food-shop more ethically, by which I mean I’m looking more critically at the food I buy, what’s in it and where it comes from, i.e. the ‘food miles’ concept.

So when I read about this consumer guide in this morning’s paper I decided I’d get one and take it shopping with me in future. Might even produce some discourse with fellow shoppers in the supermarket aisles.

There’s a website here where the guide can be consulted online and even downloaded.

3 Responses to “Ethical Consumer Guide”

  1. Tricia Says:

    Thanks for the link – off to check it out now. Looks like a great resource.

    Like

  2. sam Says:

    Thanks for sharing – I am keen to check out the guide.

    I am also on a food ethics quest and recently got hold of the Sustainable Seafood Guide: http://www.marineconservation.org.au/default2.asp?active_page_id=137.

    May be of interest if you are non-vegetarian.

    Like

  3. foodnstuff Says:

    Hi Sam, thanks for the comments and the seafood link. It all helps.

    Like

Comments are closed.


