The value of biological diversity

Since 1992, every May 22 has been the International Day for Biological Diversity. It’s a UN attempt to raise awareness of the importance of biological diversity to our lives and our future.

Here’s a wonderful post, with some beautiful pictures, from the Permaculture Research Institute website.

Unfortunately we don’t learn ecology at an early age, or ever. Some of us never come to it, or an understanding of how biological diversity underpins our very lives.

I remember the first book I read on ecology. It was called The Machinery of Nature, by American ecologist Paul Ehrlich (he of The Population Explosion fame). It kind of blew me away. It was a library book and I extended the loan and read it right through a second time. It was such a brilliant book, I wanted my own copy. My local bookshop didn’t have it, but said they’d try and get it in. I considered keeping the library copy and telling them I’d lost it (offering to pay for it, of course). Luckily I got my own copy. I re-read it often. If the house ever caught fire, it would be one of the first things I’d grab on the way out.

It was first published in 1986 and I suspect it’s now out of print.

One Response to “The value of biological diversity”

  1. Jason Dingley Says:

    It is great to find a book that means so much to you. I recently read an old book “The bushman’s handbook”. The old style took me a bit to get use to and I found the sexism a little teeth grating, but it was wonderful to get in the mind of someone with such an inherriant understanding of nature. I will keep an eye out for the one you mention.

    Like

Comments are closed.


