Chooks Ho!!….update #13….finished!

It’s all done!

With the gate now installed, the chookyard is finished. I’m really pleased with the result, especially as I did it all with no help (at least no physical help—Google helped with some of it, like how to make and install a gate):

Only thing is, even though it’s 6 square metres in area, I feel it’s too small for three full-size chooks, so what I’m going to do is clear away some of the natural bush behind it and fence off another area, at least as big again, with just a metre high fence and throw a bird net over the top so they can’t fly out. I’ll cut a small hole in the end wall of the yard and install a lift-up gate for access to the new area. Then I can let them roam in there when I’m home. Because of foxes, I wouldn’t be game to leave them in there when I’m out.

Once I clear the extra area, I can broadcast seeds of chook forage plants and they’ll have those to fossick around in. I’ve already ordered a packet of Clucker Tucker seed mix from Green Harvest. Love the name!

I might even plant some dwarf fruit trees in there and create a mini orchard which they can fertilise.

5 Responses to “Chooks Ho!!….update #13….finished!”

  1. Frogdancer Says:

    You’re an absolute inspiration.

    Like

  2. Jason Dingley Says:

    Well done! One of the best looking chook yards I have seen. Your girls will be very safe. The extra bit of run sounds like a nice idea too.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Thanks, Jason.

      I still would like to have the setup you have, with the chooks moving around and preparing the veggie beds, but my situation just doesn’t allow for that—badly designed in the first place.

      Like

  3. The F. Relic Says:

    Well done and it’s been an interesting series on the ‘girls.’ Ever so glad you have decided on giving them extra run space – they’ll need it I fear. And if they didn’t NEED it, they will do better for it. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.


