Around the garden

These purple podded peas are doing well. The colour will make searching for them amongst the foliage much easier:

The flowers are so pretty:

I love watching the girls dust bathe. They dig a large hole in the sand and all three crowd into it, tossing sand all over themselves. They aren’t vocalising much yet (as in clucking like a chook), but this exercise was accompanied by what I can only describe as the chook equivalent of moans of delight:

The leeks are starting to put up flower stems and getting tough, so I’ve picked them, sliced them and put them in the dehydrator. I’ll use them in soups & casseroles:

I’m putting two new wicking boxes up near the house. I’ve put them up on poly boxes to keep the rabbits off. I’m going to plant these up with Green Harvest’s Clucker Tucker mix for the chooks. At the moment I’m walking all the way down the back to pick greens for them every morning. The boxes are close to the chook run, so will save me some energy:

2 Responses to “Around the garden”

  1. Frogdancer Says:

    I loved your moaning chickens!!

    Like

  2. Sal Says:

    I had a giggle at the moaning chooks too! I bought a Pepino plant yesterday and it immediately reminded me of your blog, lol! Us gardeners out here in cyberspace enjoy reading other peoples gardening antics, cheers:-)

    Like

Comments are closed.


