My first egg…..yes!!!!!

After the events of a couple of days ago, things went quiet on the chook front. There were no more attempts at nesting…until this morning.

I came home from shopping to hear a cacophony of clucking and chortling from the back of the house. She who had caused all the worry on Tuesday was in the coop and the other two were making all the noise. I spent the next hour watching.

She had dug two big holes in the sand and was alternately sitting in first one then the other, all the while picking up bits of straw and tossing them over her shoulder. The others crowded in to  have a look and there was a lot of quiet chatter.

This went on for a while until the others got bored and went back out to play. She stayed there fossicking around until I got bored too, and went to make a coffee. When I came out she was just leaving the coop. Not a sound from her, so I assumed another false alarm.

I went in and found it just lying there in the sand. No big dramas…no “look what I just did”. All in a day’s work:

The scale hasn’t shown up well in the photo, but it reads just 37 g.  There will be more and they’ll no doubt be bigger, but I’m so proud of her.

To Julie of Country Chooks, if you’re reading this, a big thank you for my girls. It was a lucky day when I found your website.

7 Responses to “My first egg…..yes!!!!!”

  1. Kate Says:

    congratulations, it’s always so exciting when you get your first egg, especially considering what you went through the other day.

    Like

  2. Julie Byrne Says:

    Hoorah, what a Xmas present after all those anxious moments Mother Cluck glad you went and made the coffee. Now for the good part, usually when I have one start laying generally the others follow suit. It’s a good idea to get a couple of false eggs and leave them in the nest where you would like them to lay, I don’t know if I gave you that tip. Cheers, Julie

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Thanks, Julie, I already have a couple of eggs, but in the ‘proper’ nestboxes in the upper storey of the coop. I’m disappointed she didn’t go up there to lay; maybe the others will try them out. In the meantime I’ve put back the nesting material I took off the floor the other day. If that’s where they want to lay, so be it. They’ve got to be happy.

      You did say before Christmas if I was lucky, didn’t you. Scraped in by a couple of days!

      Like

  3. Frogdancer Says:

    It’s a lovely feeling, isn’t it?
    And it never gets old…

    Like

  4. Frogdancer Says:

    Now don’t get carried away!!

    Like

Comments are closed.


