It seemed like a good idea at the time…

I bought some seed of Fothergills Green Manure mix at Bunnings and thought I’d sow some in large pots for the Girls.

The idea was to rotate pots of greenery in their run, to save me picking greens for them every day. I figured a pot would last several days, at least.

Wrong! Never underestimate the power of chook!

I put the first pot in there this morning. It took them less than half an hour to completely demolish it. The pot on the left, outside the run, is what it looked like. The one on the right, inside the run is…well… :

At this rate I’m going to need 365 pots in rotation.

No waaay!

3 Responses to “It seemed like a good idea at the time…”

  1. Emma Cooper (@emmathegardener) Says:

    They are voracious šŸ™‚ You may find that the pecked pot, given a feed and some space, starts to regrow – possibly several times, depending on what’s in it.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Emma, thanks for getting in touch.

      I think the plants were mostly all annuals so probably won’t come back. I’ll just trim back the stalks and sow more seed in amongst them. But having to provide one pot a day is a bit too much!

      Like

  2. Frogdancer Says:

    I just throw in a lettuce gone to seed or something. Much less angst!

    Like

Comments are closed.


