Green cancer can be good sometimes

Today I did something I thought I’d never do.

I bought a bag of lawn seed.

I hate lawns!! Lawns are a waste of good growing space. Bill Mollison of permaculture fame, calls them ‘green cancer’.

I’m going to sow an area a couple of metres square next to the Girl’s playground  (by now some of you will realise what’s coming).

Once it’s grown, I’m going to fence it off round the outside and remove the fence that will separate it from the Girls while it’s growing. I’m going to install a piece of wire mesh over the top so that the Girls can stand on the mesh and peck the grass through it but can’t dig it up by the roots. I’ve seen it done and it seems to work well. Time will tell.

Come to think of it, I’m going to have to put the mesh down first, otherwise the native pigeons will help themselves to the seed.

3 Responses to “Green cancer can be good sometimes”

  1. Frogdancer Says:

    Hilarious!!!
    For someone who was only interested in the manure the gerls would give, you’re inexplicably diligent in looking after their every need!!!!

    *I’ll run away now*

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Well….happy chooks means lots of manure and eggs and (here’s the ulterior motive) it will save me picking greens for them every day).

      Like

  2. Veggiegobbler Says:

    I’m going to do something very similar… When i get round to it.

    Like

Comments are closed.


