Oh, the ignominy of it!

The Girls are moulting. So no eggs. Chooks can’t multi-task. They can’t grow new feathers and eggs at the same time.

It’s been an eggless fortnight. I cooked the last 4 in a humungous omelet earlier in the week.

It drizzled rain this morning, so not being able to work outside, I thought I’d cook.

I had a mind to make a batch of peanut/choc-chip cookies in the Thermomix. I dutifully got all the ingredients out of the cupboard and weighed them out. Chopped up the peanuts (in the Thermomix) and turned the sugar into caster sugar (Thermomix again). Then went to the fridge to get the eggs.

Duh!

Double duh!

I’ll have to buy eggs!

Since getting the Girls, I’ve become so used to a fridge full of eggs. Giving them away even. It’s hard to open the fridge door and see that forlornly empty egg carton sitting there.  So it’s down to the free-range egg farm at the end of the street to eat humble pie. (I must ask what they do when their chooks moult. Maybe I don’t want to know; probably they get hauled away and disposed of. I was a bit put out to discover that in winter they keep the lights on in the shed 16 hours a day, just to keep the chooks laying. That’s not my idea of a normal chook life).

Meanwhile, if you want to see the epitome of a moulting chook, here’s Frogdancer’s Hazel.

Since Frogdancer includes knitting amongst her many accomplishments, I wouldn’t be surprised to see Hazel sporting a rather fetching little matinee jacket in the next few days.

3 Responses to “Oh, the ignominy of it!”

  1. Frogdancer Says:

    She looks worse today.

    If they ever made a movie about zombie chooks, she’d be very convincing.

    Like

  2. Jason Dingley Says:

    The first time my chooks started moulting I thought there had been a fight for supremacy that got a little out of hand. It really is quite a disturbing site.

    I know what you mean about it being hard to have and go buy eggs when you have had ample supply right at your door step. I have only had chooks for a year and a bit and I already find it strange why anyone would buy them.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Jason,

      Since my 3 are only a bit over 6 months old, I didn’t think they’d moult so soon. How long did yours take before they started laying again?

      Like

Comments are closed.


