Wild edibles

I make a point of always reading blogs and blogposts about edible wild plants (what most Aussie gardeners would call ‘weeds’), because even though the blogs might emanate from the northern hemisphere, that’s where most of our garden weeds come from, too.

Here’s a recent post that gives a recipe for dock curry. If I can find any dock plants growing down the back, I’ll give it a go, if not I might try nettles, of which I have a huge patch, or maybe a combination of nettles and sorrel which also has a lemony flavour.

This would be an ideal recipe to do in the Thermomix.

I really must try to develop a patch of edible wild ‘weeds’ somewhere down the back of the property in amongst the native grasses. I’m already growing sorrel, nettles, chickweed and dandelions, but the real problem is the rabbits. They seem to love all these (well, maybe not the nettles), and every plant I grow has to be protected with wire. I think I’ll have to encircle a large area with wire (several square metres), so that I can leave the ‘weeds’ to self-seed and multiply.

4 Responses to “Wild edibles”

  1. narf77 Says:

    Most of our European weeds go straight down our hens throats. The rest get guzzled by rabbits, wallabies etc. and what is left (sad pathetic half mangled specimens that they are) get urinated on by the dog. Not too sure if that makes me over enthusiastic about eating them. I love watching Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall and that older man (can’t remember his name) make all sorts of things from wild harvests. The seaweed was most interesting. I have some nettles growing in the garden and might give them a go (like spanakopita or mix them with potatoes for some sort of curry). Cheers for reminding me about using weeds and when I find some in reasonable condition (i.e. not still dripping from the dogs recent decoration) I will harvest them and have a go at making something nutritious AND tasty with them. 🙂

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi narf, thanks for the comments. The chooks get most of the weeds here, too, but surprisingly, they won’t look at nettles. I grew some in a big pot to put in their run, but they just ignore it.

      I’m a fan of Hugh F-W as well.

      Hope you can get to enjoy some ‘weedy’, doggy doo-free meals 😉

      Like

      • narf77 Says:

        lol its not the “doo”…you can see that…its the nefarious dog drizzlings that catch you unawares! Cheers for your great blog by the way. I am getting heaps of leads on how to go about water wicking and implementation of permaculture principals (especially your grey water post). Living in Tassie is somewhat like living in Victoria only you dont have the numpty natives over there! (I am originally from W.A.) although the possums appear to be Australia wide. My brother is making mutterings about them from W.A. so I guess they are starting to get hungry now all the blackberries are gone. Keep up the great posts and know that somewhere in Northern Tasmania, a bewildered woman, her long suffering handy husband and all of the freeloading native and feral creatures in the neighbourhood are hanging on your every post 🙂

        Like

  2. foodnstuff Says:

    Hi again narf, thanks for the multitude of positive comments. It’s always nice when someone actually gets something useful out of the blog.

    Like

Comments are closed.


