Back in business!

Yep! It’s an egg! First one since early March, when the Girls gave up laying to moult.

Nice surprise, as I wasn’t expecting to see any for another couple of months. This one appreared last Saturday and there was another one today. It’s nice to see the carton in the fridge with something in it again. I’ve been buying eggs at the free-range egg farm at the end of our street and although the owner is a very nice person, it was hard to have to endure that slight smirk and “hens not laying yet?”.

There’s more:

I think spring is coming!

2 Responses to “Back in business!”

  1. Chris Says:

    Awesome! While you have fresh asparagus, I have to settle for floppy store bought ones. Ah well, you win some you lose some. Our hens have been pretty good layers through winter. I supsect they’ll stop this summer for a moult. I’ll start to worry if they don’t.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Chris, asparagus are easy to grow from seed, but you do have to wait a couple of years until they’re established enough to pick. I settled for seed because I wasn’t able to buy crowns anywhere at the time. Nowadays I find little seedlings coming up in odd spots and can transplant them easily to where I want them.

      You’re a bit further north than me and probably warmer (?) so I expect your girls like it enough to keep laying.

      Like

Comments are closed.


