The versatile Excalibur dehydrator

Last year I bought two new gadgets somewhat expensive pieces of kitchen equipment.

The first was an Excalibur dehydrator and the second was a Thermomix. If I had to score them for usefulness, I think the Thermie would come out ahead, but the dehydrator does its fair share of processing and drying.

Baby tub of home-made yoghurt maturing in the bottom of the dehydrator:

(I need to start making larger batches. The Girls love it on their porridge!).

At the same time, apple rings drying on the top shelf…..:

…..and pumpkin seeds drying on the lid:

5 Responses to “The versatile Excalibur dehydrator”

  1. narf77 Says:

    Those pumpkin seeds wouldn’t be from a certain “Barbara” would they? ;). I too fell prey to the purchase of an excalibar. I haven’t actually used it all that much and now I just put anything that I want to slowly dehydrate into Brunhilda (my massive great wood burning stove) into her slowest warming oven and hey PRESTO its slowly and consistently dried. I dry out my almond pulp left over from making my staple almond milk and have a jar full of almond flour now. I just have to work out what I am going to do with it now… along with the sesame flour that has a more “interesting” flavour making it less conducive to using willy nilly. I WISH I had a Thermie. I gave my husband doe eyes for a month but he remained steadfastly resolute and reminded me that I had a vitamix, an excalibar, a soy milk maker, a pasta maker, a bread machine and that I used precisely 1 of them (the vitamix) on a semi regular basis… sigh…he is right…but that DOESN’T make me want one any less! I will just have to make do with Brunhilda and a magnificent steed she is! (I really do envy you your thermomix though…)

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Yes, they would be Barbara and yours are in the post.

      I love the idea of a stove called Brunhilda, almost as delightful as a chook called Effel Poocark πŸ™‚

      Like

      • narf77 Says:

        LOL Effel would be MOST upset at your description of her…her name is “Effel Doocark” I almost spat my tea out laughing there… Thank you HEAPS in advance for Barbara. She is going to be the very first pumpkin crop going into Serendipity Soil and I will be saving the seed from the biggest and fattest of her progeny for the futures sake. I love the idea of sharing seeds and spreading the love as well as keeping seed banks in various locations. We just formed a little collective seed bank! πŸ™‚ I am off to learn about Transition Towns today at a lecture and am joining in with forming Transition Tamar. I am very excited and hope that we don’t get too many “felt hatters” as I don’t deal with them well (might have to set fire to their bicycles! πŸ˜‰ )

        Like

        • foodnstuff Says:

          Oh dear, profuse apologies to Effel. I guess poo and doo are pretty much synonymous in my aging brain πŸ™‚

          Good luck with the Transition Towns thing. I would love to have one going here, but our town is definitely not a green one.

          Like

          • narf77 Says:

            Our town is most definately NOT a green one either but we might just be going to miss out on that Tamar Valley pulp mill as it would seem that Gunns is just about to go broke! We can only cross our fingers in hope as we live just around the corner from the prospective site… Transition towns would seem a bit far away for the Tamar Valley but there were lots of us there that want to see positive change going on. The people that ran the workshop were a bit arty farty in a nice way but pipe music and chanting are not my idea of transition towns. I think we got a bit sidetracked but it will take more than a few pan flutes and some crazy talk to derail this little black duck from her desire to turn Sidmouth Tasmania into a sustainable suburb! πŸ™‚ I got Barbaras babies today and will nurture them with tender loving care and will coax them into the world and hopefully into my fecund compost heap as soon as it stops snowing in Tasmania! πŸ™‚ Cheers for that and I will be sending you some weird seeds for your collection soon πŸ™‚

            Like

Comments are closed.


