Tomato time again

I regularly visit a local Sunday Market and there’s an old guy with a long white beard who sells veggie and herb seedlings. At this time of year he does a roaring trade in tomatoes. Look at these:

The two punnets on the left are what I bought.  Roma and Rouge de Marmande. I haven’t grown the latter variety before. My own spindly efforts are in the plastic dish on the right. He gets his seedlings from someone in a production nursery and pots them on for sale.  He reckons they should be put outside as soon as possible, but out of the cold wind. This toughens them up, he says.  They’re certainly tough-looking little b’s. Look at those thick stems! I sowed my seeds (inside) a fortnight later than his were sown and mothered them indoors until a week ago when they went into the polyhouse. They’ll be OK by the time the ground is warm enough to plant, though. I’m tempted to plant his seedlings out now, but no, I’ll wait till it’s really warmer. I’d hate to lose them in a late frost.

6 Responses to “Tomato time again”

  1. gwen Says:

    Wow, those look pretty sturdy! I wonder why the stems are so thick. Hope your tomatoes do well this year! I haven’t even got any yet.

    Like

  2. Frogdancer Says:

    Today is tomato seedling transplant day!!!!
    Finally…

    Like

  3. narf77 Says:

    We can’t plant tomatoes out here until after show day or you are pretty much certain to get a late frost.

    Like

  4. notsomethingelse Says:

    I continue to be thankful for your local-ish updates which I use as reminders/pointers/ideas as to what I should be doing at various times.

    Like

  5. test Says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I
    get several e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can
    remove people from that service? Cheers!

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Gee, I’m sorry you’re being bothered by unwanted emails and I haven’t a clue how to stop it. The ins & outs of this WordPress blog system baffle me more often than not. You could try making another comment and if the box appears again try unchecking it, if that’s possible. I’ll look into it further and let you know if I find out anything.

      Which post was it you actually commented to? It doesn’t appear to be this one, as your name doesn’t appear in the list of commenters above (I mean previous to your present comment!).

      Like

Comments are closed.


