Is this what collapse looks like?

Farm animal slaughter to push up food prices

7 Responses to “Is this what collapse looks like?”

  1. MaidenFarmer Says:

    Truely disgraceful. whare is the ethical care here?

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      To be sure, it’s a predicament producers have gotten themselves in to, by becoming dependent on sourcing food outside. It’s a sad state what most producers feed their animals – so far removed from their natural diet. Having said that, it would be unethical to let the animals starve now, if they cannot afford to buy food for the numbers they have.

      It looks like the higher price of organic meat, is about to become more competitive. It’s probably a good thing too.

      Like

  2. narf77 Says:

    It looks like the start 😦

    Like

  3. notsomethingelse Says:

    Hi Foodnstuff, I made a post on my blog about your post. I would be interested to know if you received a pingback or trackback from my site as I am still trying to work out just how that process works.

    Great that you have raised this issue.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi B, I’m still trying to work out what pingbacks are myself, but I did get one in my Inbox which quoted part of your blogpost and asked for me to approve it. I don’t generally approve pinkbacks (so that they will appear here), only comments, especially if the comment adds additional information to my original post, but I don’t know if that’s what I should be doing or not.

      Will have to Google pingbacks and find out what they really are!

      Like

      • notsomethingelse Says:

        Thanks for that. I think what you describe is what is meant to happen. I don’t expect you to approve it. As far as I can tell, it is mainly to let you know that a post of yours has been referenced somewhere else, which I think is only right to do as a courtesy gesture.
        In my case at least, what I wanted to say was more than could reasonably be said in a comment.
        Keep up the good work!

        Like

  4. Chris Says:

    We started with chickens and quickly learned how dependent we were on grain. We’d really love different livestock, like goats or cows, but as we’ve learned with chickens – you’ve got to grow as much food as you can yourself.

    The farming game is about to change in a big way.

    Like

Comments are closed.


