Junk potatoes

I picked these today:

There are just under two kilos. The largest weighs 300 g. I found them in what I call my ‘junk’ compost bin.

It’s a cheap plastic freebie which came from the local Council (our Council never gives anything good away). I don’t use it for ‘serious’ compost. It gets the junk stuff—weeds with seeds, vacuum cleaner dust, deceased possums & rabbits, and so on. I never empty it; just keep chucking stuff in and it keeps on shrinking.

Some huge potato stems appeared in there this year and when they’d died back I thought I’d have a look. These are bigger potatoes than the ones I grew deliberately!

Maybe deceased possums & rabbits are something I should have more of!

3 Responses to “Junk potatoes”

  1. Frogdancer Says:

    Free food!!!! Gotta love it.

    Like

  2. Liz Says:

    Well I guess they sell blood and bone for a reason, although usually more pulverised than I suspect it would be in a compost bin. Bonus harvests are always exciting aren’t they?

    Like

  3. narf77 Says:

    We have a serious dearth of deceased possums here…they are all alive, well and robust enough to give the feral cat problem a bit of feisty action. We don’t have rabbits (thanks to the feral cats) but we do have spuds…HEAPS of spuds, thanks to a 10kg bag going for $5 all through winter and for most of spring at our local Tassie markets, spuds are my food of choice. I wish I could grow them in anything other than grow bags because our soil is rocks and dust BUT when I toss them into the compost heap they certainly do their thang 🙂 Those freebies look amazing!

    Like

Comments are closed.


