Freezing tomatoes for winter use

I deliberately grow many more tomatoes than I can possibly eat during the growing season. The quickest way to deal with them is to throw them whole into the freezer. When frozen, they clack about like cricket balls. Last season I finished up with four large plastic boxes full and now have two left. Number three was taken out last week and turned into a batch of spicy tomato and red lentil soup (Thermomix style):

tomatoes 004

There was more than enough for the batch of soup so I turned the remainder into puree. I’ve written here about how I leave them to defrost on the bench overnight and then tip off the water that’s expelled, so the puree doesn’t need so much cooking to reduce it. I put the puree back into the freezer in 400 gm lots which is the size of a can of tomatoes, so one lot fits most recipes. It works well. For making the soup though, I left them as is and just chopped them in their frozen state in the Thermomix.

Of course, they’re no good as fresh tomatoes (which I never buy at any time of the year), but there are endless uses for cooked tomatoes and freezing them whole is a quick way of dealing with an excess that can be dealt with when there’s more time.

2 Responses to “Freezing tomatoes for winter use”

  1. rabidlittlehippy Says:

    I sadly have insufficient freezer space for that which is why I bottle them but it would make processing faster for making paste. Thanks for the idea. I have 9 or 10 packs of tomato seeds to grow this year and will be planting as mny as I possibly can too.

    Like

  2. narf77 Says:

    A woman after my own heart, minimise the hassles just freeze them whole :).

    Like

Comments are closed.


