The drought is over!

eggs 002

Yes, the Girls have started laying again. After not having any eggs since the end of February, it’s so good to see them again. Two on Sunday and two more yesterday (the pencilled numbers are the dates).

I can’t help wondering if that episode with the fox a couple of days previously had anything to do with it. Hormones stimulated by getting a big fright?

Eggs and a prediction of temperatures hovering round the 20’s. It really must be spring!

5 Responses to “The drought is over!”

  1. rabidlittlehippy Says:

    I have heard that a good fright will start egg production again. Our first ever hen laid her first ever egg after my father gave her a boot up the bum to get her moving into the coop. She laid it on dad’s shoe! I reckon I need to get into my coop though and scare the crap out of my girls. One silkie and maybe 1 Dorking are laying from the 2 silkies and 4 Dorkings at the moment. I resent needing to buy eggs even if they are from a friend.

    Like

  2. foodnstuff Says:

    Well, that’s interesting! It seemed too much of a coincidence to ignore—first the fox, then the eggs. Maybe next time I’ll get a stuffed fox!

    Like

  3. narf77 Says:

    Maybe my girls lay all of the time because Earl gives them the heebie jeebies?! ;). Mine refused point blank to lay all summer when I had them in the enclosure. I got about 2 eggs a week and it was starting to look like we were going to have to buy eggs and with 20 chooks all on strike the food bill for bugger all was getting to be a sore point. I gave up and let them out to free range and do what they would (hoping that something would eat them!) and suddenly they started laying again. Looks like they were saving them up for their release date 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.


