My fluffy bits are bigger than your fluffy bits!

Which is what I imagine a salsify seed would say to a dandelion seed:

salsify 006

As you may have guessed, the salsify has flowered and the seed heads are maturing:

salsify 003

Imagine how far those things are going to travel in a stiff breeze! I don’t want to be responsible for introducing salsify to my local environment. I’d better make sure I collect every one and excise its fluffy bits. We don’t need any more environmental weeds here.

8 Responses to “My fluffy bits are bigger than your fluffy bits!”

  1. narf77 Says:

    My reckoning is that letting it go would be like urban guerilla gardening…what’s not to love? Wild edibles rather than weeds that you can’t eat 😉

    Like

  2. rabidlittlehippy Says:

    I am with Narf here. I replanted some I’d pulled out of the grass and put them in a garden bed. I figured they didn’t have a snowflakes chance but they are flowering! I shall be watching for those seeds and doing a scattering fairy dance all around my garden beds with the seeds. I even have dandelion seeds with which to do the same (more wild edibles :D) My mum will have a fit when she sees my gardens full of “weeds” but as long as she doesn’t decide to help by weeding the garden… 😦

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Oh, I’m going to broadcast the seeds in the food forest alright. I’m just not going to let them into the remnant bush. I’ll pick every seed head as soon as it goes fluffy and before it disperses,and store the seed inside till I want to use it. The bush part of my property is covenanted and I have a responsibility not to let it become invaded with non-indigenous species.

      Like

      • rabidlittlehippy Says:

        Ah, fair enough. 🙂 And very responsible of you too I must say. 🙂 What things are you allowed to plant in your bush area? Anything native or indigenous to the area species only, or nothing at all?

        Like

        • foodnstuff Says:

          The area must be kept indigenous, and I don’t really need to plant anything as new plants appear from self-seeding. I’ll only plant extras of species that occur in small numbers, for example one species occurs as one plant only. It hasn’t self-seeded at all so I try to take cuttings and plant extras. This isn’t really a good idea because the cuttings will all be clones of the single survivor and if it succumbs to environmental change they’ll all go. I should get cuttings from forms from nearby locations (not easy as it has all been destroyed in this area), since they would be genetically different, even though they are the same species. I have a feeling that the single plant isn’t setting seed for the reason that it needs others for cross-pollination.

          The covenanted area occupies about 3/4 of the whole property. The rest was destroyed by a previous owner. The covenant means that the remainder can’t be destroyed by me or any subsequent owner (in perpetuity in other words).

          The covenanting body has legal teeth; they can fine me (or a future owner) for removing vegetation and require it to be returned, or do it themselves and charge the cost to the owner.

          Under the terms of the covenant, neither I nor any subsequent owner may own a cat or a dog (in order to protect wildlife).

          Peak oil and climate change means nothing (as it exists now) will be forever.

          I hope that by protecting a small part of the original landscape, it will have a chance to return when humans finally depart this planet as I believe (and hope) they ultimately will.

          Like

          • rabidlittlehippy Says:

            What a beautiful covenant. Your propagation will, as you say, produce clones of the parent plant but will they at least provide cross pollination or won’t that work? 3/4 of the property is a substantial area but if you have enough to grow sufficient food for yourself then I guess it’s a wonderfully small price to pay to have some beautiful bushland at your doorstep so to speak. I’m glad they’ve said no cats or dogs too for the protection of the wildlife too.
            One day we will screw ourselves into oblivion in my belief. If the species survives I hope and pray it is those who truly give a damn about our beautiful planet.

            Like

  3. kayepea Says:

    So how do you eat Salsify? Or should I be looking elsewhere in your erstwhile blog?

    Like

Comments are closed.


