Suncalc

Suncalc is a nifty little site I found recently which enables you to type in your geographic location and see the passage of the sun across the sky on any date in the year. You can change the date to any day in the year or click ‘now’ for the current day and time.

I’ve been playing around with it in connection with my PV solar system, trying to find the sun angle on my panels at the summer solstice, but it occurred to me that it would be an invaluable tool for permaculture designers because one of the first things you do in putting together a permaculture design for a property is a sector analysis of the site, in which you draw in the directions of the various raw energies impacting the site, like wind, fire and the sun’s path across the property on the crucial days of the year, the summer and winter solstices and the equinoxes. Knowing how these elements impact on the property allows you to design in features such as windbreaks, firebreaks and where you want shade and sun.

When you enter your location, the time of day is given along the top of the screen and you can drag the slider to see the sun at various positions throughout the day.

If you can’t get your exact location, then you can try a major location nearby and drag the little balloon icon which marks it wherever you like. I found that by magnifying the map, I was able to get the pointer right over my street and onto the position of my house.

Have a play with it—it’s quite useful.

2 Responses to “Suncalc”

  1. rabidlittlehippy Says:

    Oh my! What an incredible and free tool! Legendary! Thank you so much for sharing. 😀

    Like

  2. narf77 Says:

    Cheers for sharing that Bev. Not had time to play with it yet (too busy reading RSS Feed Reads that I couldn’t read yesterday) but I can see that aside from being useful for people on solar power, it will be useful to me, a newbie veggie gardener who wants to plot pathways for planting, to know where the hottest part of our new garden is and where the shade is going to languish (along with the veggies that I plant there).

    Like

Comments are closed.


