January solar update

Here’s the latest solar update. As noted previously, I’m going to include all the previous updates in every new post so that all you solar nerds out there can make comparisons.

January 2014
Note: these are daily averages for the month

Power imported from the grid = 4.4 kWh

Import cost @ 25.14 cents per kWh = $1.10

Generated power = 20.1 kWh

Exported power = 18.1 kWh

Credit for exported power @ 8 cents per kWh = $1.45

Generated power actually used in the home = 2.3 kWh

Notes:

Power imported from the grid = extra power I need to take from the grid when the panels aren’t operating or when they’re not providing enough.

Import cost @ 25.14 cents per kWh = what I pay for imported power.

Generated power = what the panels produce each day.

Exported power = power produced by the panels which is not used in the house.

Credit for exported power @ 8 cents per kWh = what I’m paid for the excess power I generate.

More notes:

I had an electricity bill during January. I wasn’t surprised to see that it was double my normal bill for this period. The problem lies with United Energy, my electricity supplier. Their data is flawed. I’ve known this for some time and have been trying to get the problem fixed. To cut a long story short, they have been adding solar generation to consumption and charging me for it. There is nothing wrong at my end with the new smart meter, it is what they do with the data at their end that is the problem. Because they are sending flawed data to AGL, my energy retailer (who don’t know what day of the week it is, anyway), I’ve been billed according to the flawed data. Luckily I’ve been reading the meter daily since the smart meter was installed and I know exactly how much energy I’ve imported from the grid and how much excess solar energy has been exported to the grid. The bill didn’t show any exports either, so I received no credits. I’ve refused to pay and my account has been put on hold for a month while they sort it out. So hopefully I won’t be disconnected. Not pleased is putting it mildly. Stay tuned for further news. (If it doesn’t get sorted, I’ll be taking my case to the Ombudsman. That’ll fix ’em!!)

Here’s the previous updates:

December 2013
Note: these are daily averages for the month

Power imported from the grid = 5.1 kWh

Import cost @ 25.14 cents per kWh = $1.27

Generated power = 18.6 kWh

Exported power = 16.2 kWh

Credit for exported power @ 8 cents per kWh = $1.30

Generated power actually used in the home = 2.4 kWh

November 2013
Note: these are daily averages for the month

Power imported from the grid = 5.4 kWh

Import cost @ 25.14 cents per kWh = $1.37

Generated power = 18.1 kWh

Exported power = 15.1 kWh

Credit for exported power @ 8 cents per kWh = $1.15

Generated power actually used in the home = 3 kWh

5 Responses to “January solar update”

  1. narf77 Says:

    What a farce! YOU imported energy into the grid and they charge you for it as well as your regular bill!!!! It would be laughable if it wasn’t such a stupid mistake…How on EARTH do they expect people to pick up sustainable lifestyle choices when they do stupid things like this?!!!! Sigh…

    Like

    • rabidlittlehippy Says:

      THEY don’t want us to pick up sustainable lifestyle choices. THEY want us to buy their dirty power and line their pockets. Still, I agree, laughable if not so utterly stupid and infuriating too. I hope they sort it out and soon and offer some pretty incentives for you not to tell them where to stick their power and change provider.

      Like

  2. BloglessSandy Says:

    We had the same problem when we first started feeding solar power into the grid. Different retailer but exactly the same thing happened. My advice is to ensure that you check your ‘sorted’ bill thoroughly when it arrives. It took our retailer 2 attempts before they managed to get our reissued bill correct. If you’re still having problems the Ombudsman is definitely the way to go. I had to take this route on an entirely unrelated issue. Interesting how responsive the retailer became when the Ombudsman came into the picture. Good luck.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Sandy,

      It’s amazing how many people I’m coming across who are having problems with energy companies. Solar and non-solar people. I assume you might be with United Energy. Are you aware of their Energy Easy web portal? That’s where I first became aware that solar generation was being added to consumption. I’ve been trying for 3 months to get them to fix it. I knew the bill would be wrong and it was! Energy Ain’t Easy!

      Like

Comments are closed.


