Telling an oil company where to go

I get the morning paper delivered and read it over breakfast. Sometimes I wonder why I bother. The news is all bad—climate change; a scientifically illiterate prime minister who can’t accept it; domestic violence; abused children; an ambulance didn’t come in time and somebody died; another species gone extinct; pollies rorting the system; more roads being built—the depressing news is endless.

But not all the world has gone mad. Here’s a story that hasn’t (yet—I live in hope) made the news. A tiny English village has told an oil company to ‘frack off’ (love it!) and is building enough community-owned solar power to match the electricity needs of every home in the village. What a great initiative! The power of community at its best.

9 Responses to “Telling an oil company where to go”

  1. kayepea Says:

    There are places/communities doing exactly that right here in Oz but unfortunately I can’t remember the names so you can blog those too! 😦

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      I know there are plenty of communities protesting against fracking; it’s the solar initiative I’m rapt about here. Easy to wave a placard around, but it needs real effort and commitment for a whole village to adopt solar energy.

      Like

      • kayepea Says:

        No. I’m sorry I did not make myself clear – I did mean communities getting together to go solar together!

        Like

        • foodnstuff Says:

          Oh, sorry KP. Hadn’t heard of any. If you remember the names of any, let me know 😉

          Like

  2. Linda Woodrow Says:

    Go to http://www.lockthegate.org.au/. You will be stunned. This is a critical issue that is under the radar for many urban people, but as you will see from the videos there, it is probably one of the most important and vibrant issues out there. I’m spending a fair amount of time at the Bentley blockade. I’ve never blockaded before in my life. But of all the things I can do about climate change and about food security, I actually feel like I can achieve something there.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Good for you, Linda! I know about lockthegate, but agree; most people in suburbia don’t know what fracking is.

      Like

  3. notsomethingelse Says:

    I like that. I also like and support what the Lock The Gate Alliance is doing in our own country. When inept and corrupt governments support out of control corporate manipulation against the will of the people it is a big problem wherever it occurs.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Ineptness and corruption in government seems to be the norm in this country now. I take comfort in the fact that there are more of us than there are of them. 😉

      Like

  4. narf77 Says:

    I am going to have to start inventing swear words for fracking. It seems too manevolent a practice for the swear words that I know. They are exploring Tassie now to frack…gotta say that we Aussies can be bloody stupid sometimes! Sell it off for “jobs” and once it’s sucked out of the ground or ruined and the profiteers move off to greener pastures to plunder what are we left with except a HUGE mess to clean up? Where is the justice?!!! I am formulating those swear words as I type…

    Like

Comments are closed.


