This is so impressive

I often wonder how people in industrialised societies will cope as climate change impacts more and more on food production and we transition from well-stocked supermarkets, through huge food price increases, to empty supermarkets. Most people wouldn’t know how to plant a seed or grow even a pot of parsley.

Every year millions of people in Bangladesh are affected by flooding and riverbank erosion, which leaves huge deposits of unfertile and barren silt and sand. Look at what they are doing with the technique of sandbar cropping:

I’m gob-smacked by their ingenuity and hard work. And deeply ashamed when I think that last year, with good soil and water laid on, I could only manage to harvest one pumpkin from a pretty ordinary crop.

We people in industrial civilisation just don’t know we’re alive!

 

(image courtesy of  www.permaculturenews.org)

3 Responses to “This is so impressive”

  1. narf77 Says:

    Absolutely gobsmackingly awesome :). Cheers for that wonderful share Bev. I too feel ashamed as although the native animals did their level best to foil my desire to have a large crop I got a whole lot of growth and very little produce. I guess when you have the option to head down to the shops you are less inclined to put everything that you have into it. What an amazing sight and how resilient they are

    Like

  2. Chris Says:

    It’s brilliant to see them using a natural resource, although after reading what’s involved, I wonder how these impoverished people would fill their pits with compost, if it wasn’t for the aid agencies who I’m assuming is helping to supply it?

    I’m not criticising the process, I think its ingenious, but I wonder how they could produce their own compost if their animals have been swept away, along with the rest of the vegetation? There has to be a natural resource around from the deluge event, or at least I hope there would be in order for this system to be sustainable after the aid agencies have gone.

    I truly admire the communities efforts though and to see them so proud of their harvest, almost brings a tear to the eye. For us in the western world, when we grow our own food its considered a bonus. For other parts of the world however, growing food means absolute survival.

    Like

  3. rabidlittlehippy Says:

    I think Narf hit it on the head. When we have other options available we have the back up of taking the easier way out and we don’t have to put everything on the line for our veggie gardens. I wonder how an experiment would go for most people of buy NOTHING foodwise for a month… Hmmm.

    Like

Comments are closed.


