The Thin Green Line

Watched Australian Story on ABC TV last Monday and was blown away to see Sean Willmore and the story about the organisation he founded called The Thin Green Line:

Background

The Thin Green Line Foundation was founded by award-winning conservationist, documentary filmmaker and Park Ranger, Sean Willmore.

In 2004, Sean set off around the world to make a documentary about the stories of park rangers. Taking almost 12 months to travel through 23 countries, he uncovered  many inspiring stories along the way.

The Thin Green Line documentary premiered in 2007, capturing people’s hearts in over 50 countries. The film has since become an international success story, offering a sense of hope and pride for park rangers around the world.

The documentary became the catalyst for Sean to set up The Thin Green Line Foundation, to support park rangers in danger.

I was rapt, because I know Sean. When we bought our bush block in the mid-90’s Sean was the Conservation Officer for our local council. He was also a qualified assessor for the Victorian Land for Wildlife scheme. When I applied to have the property assessed as part of the scheme, Sean was the one who did the assessment. He’s a great guy—so totally committed to protecting the natural environment. It was Sean who inspired me to train and become a volunteer assessor with the scheme, which I did for a number of years. I’d heard he had been around the world making a documentary film about park rangers, but wasn’t aware of the full scope of what he’d done till I saw the TV program.

I’ve been to the Foundation’s website and made a donation. If you saw Australian Story and value what Sean is doing for wildlife conservation, have a think about making a donation, too. What’s happening in Africa—poaching of elephants for ivory and the deliberate killing of other species for money is an abomination.

(That Australian Story episode will be up on ABC iview for another 10 days or so.)

 

3 Responses to “The Thin Green Line”

  1. kayepea Says:

    Sorry Bev, I could’ve kept you updated all along if I’d known – or remembered – your connection with Sean. I’ve been a supporter of TGL since he started. He does a superb job and deserves the accolades he gets, but it did surprise (and please) me that he has found the love of his life…hope all goes well with him in that endeavour. 🙂

    Like

  2. Linne Says:

    A great post! I’ve re-blogged it for my readers.
    Thanks so much. ~ Linne

    Like

  3. narf77 Says:

    Cheers for this Bev, I love that social media gives us a handle on life as it happens and that we don’t have to wait for the David Attenbourough movie to come to TV any more 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.


