Quick update…

…on those Cucamelons in the previous post.

I put a query on the Ozgrow garden forum asking if anyone had grown them and a member replied that they were available in the Johnsons Seed range at Bunnings.

Groan! I had sent away for them and paid postage, when I could have got them cheaper.

So I bought a couple of packets there and added in a packet of goji berries and some cape gooseberry:

IMG_2621

Looks like I’m going to have cucamelons coming out of my ears!

(Note to my penniless hippy friend at Serendipity Farm…..there’s a packet of cucamelon seeds in the post for you. Hope the possums like them)Β  πŸ˜‰

 

6 Responses to “Quick update…”

  1. narf77 Says:

    I love you Bev πŸ™‚ Thank you from the bottom of my little cuke-a-melon loving heart. I started reading today’s post and got highly excited about it but looked at that range of seeds and my little narfish heart started to fall…we can’t get them here in our local Bunnings…but then I saw those magic words and I am up there in the clouds again :). I might not have much postulated in my brain at the moment for what to plant this year (too early nature… TOO EARLY!) but I am going to forge on ahead regardless of my cluelessness and am hoping that I can pick up the hints, tips and cues that I need from you real veggie gardeners out there. Thank you so much for your generosity Bev, never will a cuke-a-melon patch be more lovingly cared for than it will be on Serendipity Farm πŸ™‚

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      You’re very welcome. Penniless hippy students (and possums) need to be looked after. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • narf77 Says:

        Tell you what, I might just send you a few of my possums in thanks Bev ;). I found a poor possum upside down in a welded on an angle big garbage bin the other day. Goodness only knows how long the poor bugger had been in the bin but he was lucky that the rubbish man hadn’t been. I only noticed him as I was throwing out a box of savoury shape bickies that I didn’t want Steve to know that I had eaten on the way home from my daughters πŸ˜‰ Seems like my subterfuge was this possum’s saving. I pulled out the bin bag and coaxed him out of it and after a few minutes curled up looking at me with big wide eyes he realised that I was a saviour not after a possum snack and he hightailed it out of there…he will probably cross the bridge with all of his mates and move in to Serendipity Farm now but hey…whatchagonnadoeh? πŸ˜‰ Again thank you SO much for the seeds Bev, you are a darling and I will think of you every time I pick one πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. narf77 Says:

    πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Frogdancer Says:

    Last year we had home-grown goji berries for the first time. Divine. SO much better than the dried.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      I tried growing them some years ago without much success. The ones in the garden died and so did the (lovingly tended) one in the pot. So I’m hoping for more success on my second try.

      Like

Comments are closed.


