Another self-sufficiency audit

It’s been 3 years since I did my last audit on how much food I’m growing. I wrote about how I was going to do it here and wrote up the results 12 months later.

Last year, with the woefully hot summer weather we had, wasn’t a good year for self-sufficiency with me. In fact I’ve had the impression that I haven’t done as well as I’d like for the last couple of years. So it’s time to do another audit.

A new month and a new season start next week, so I’ll get going on September 1st and go for 12 months again. I hope it’ll be a good year. I need some feel-good vibes to keep me going.

6 Responses to “Another self-sufficiency audit”

  1. rabidlittlehippy Says:

    The weather scares the pants off me already this year. Sunburn in August in Victoria? Still, just means we need to adapt I guess.

    Good luck with self sufficiency in 2014/2015. We’re aiming for it too, to some degree at least. 🙂

    Like

  2. Chris Says:

    I found when you’re busy propagating plants, its not always easy to maintain the edibles. Nature has been unpredictable the past season. An audit may not be a good indicator of how to adapt to different ways of growing things, but it will indicate what your problem areas are.

    I find with the unpredictable nature of the weather, its hard to plan for a reliable harvest. I’m trying some new ways of growing things, to see if it does better.

    Like

    • Chris Says:

      Forgot to ask, as you going to try some new ways of growing things, or change your systems slightly?

      Like

      • foodnstuff Says:

        Probably going to keep things pretty much the same, but I’m always looking for new ideas. Weather is a big factor, but if I know roughly what to expect I hope I can quickly adapt to most of what comes along. I’m thinking of things like ready-to-go with shadecloth for predicted high temperatures or butterfly exclusion netting at the first sign of a cabbage moth, etc, etc.

        Like

  3. narf77 Says:

    Jumping into the deep end and trying to grow your own food is it’s own reward in so many ways but you also have to deal with the frustration that nature (and it’s little minions) throw at you on a daily basis. The good thing (the silver lining/flip side) is that you live, you learn and you get smarter. Learning from other people who have been there before is also an amazing way to garner hope out of hopeless situations. Greening the desert? Might just need to watch that video again! We are all on your side Bev and any hassles and you just have to let us know 🙂

    Like

  4. narf77 Says:

    (You are on your own with those cabbage moth’s though 😉 )

    Like

Comments are closed.


