The newbies have arrived!

I picked up my three new chooks today. Twelve weeks old. Henceforth they’ll be The New Girls and Cheeky & Molly will be The Old Girls. No names yet, until I see what fits their personalities. Anyway, I can’t tell them apart.

They seem to be settling in OK.

“Well, this is better than that car ride. And the music she plays! Mozart! I ask you! We prefer Beatles beetles.” :

IMG_2745

“Is that the bedroom?” :

IMG_2749

“Well, the food’s half-decent. Will we stay? Yeah, why not?” :

IMG_2759

“It sure was one heck of a day!” :

IMG_2763

Oh dear! It looks like the first night is going to be spent in the dress circle rather than the stalls :

IMG_2765

A big thankyou to Julie at Country Chooks, for all my Girls and for the 2 dozen eggs. And to my friend B for the loan of the cat cage, which was just right.

5 Responses to “The newbies have arrived!”

  1. narf77 Says:

    Where is the “Love” button when you need it πŸ™‚ ❀ That will have to do πŸ™‚ You can tell a new chook by the distance between it's head and it's body…old chooks heads are closer to their bodies because they are comfortable in their environment and new chooks heads are about as far away from their bodies as they can possibly be what with scoping out the danger and in trying to look at everything at once. I bet chooks envy owls ;). They look like lovely healthy new girls and its no wonder they didn't head into their nesting box, you just moved them into Cluckingham Palace and they are obviously completely overwhelmed πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Yes, well…I wasn’t well pleased at having to clean the sloppy poo off the top of the coop. Spoiled my new paint job, it did! Tonight they’re getting newspaper to sleep on. Haven’t seen anyone inside the actual coop yet…hoping they find the bedroom soon.

      Like

      • narf77 Says:

        Thems the breaks with new babies Bev. My friend brought her grandkids around yesterday and by the time they went home I was thinking about ways that I could sterilise my kids to make sure that they never have kids of their own ;). Fingers crossed that they get brave enough to go into the new bedroom and then they won’t want to come out πŸ˜‰

        Like

  2. fergie51 Says:

    A big welcome to the ‘new girls’ πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Chris Says:

    Its always exciting getting new chooks. They look content, if only a bit skittish on their first day. They really liked the top of your coop, didn’t they?

    Fingers crossed for more yummy eggs. πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.


