Settling in…

Day three of the Newby Adventure. The New Girls, aka the Chooklets, are settling in.

I opened the pop door at the far end of the run and allowed them into the first 2 square metres of the corridor that connects the new and the old system. I put a load of mulched bracken in there and they pottered away happily in there most of the day :

IMG_2775

To get them used to me, I’ve installed my morning coffee chair beside them. They’re apprehensive at first but soon settle down. I prattle away, saying soothing chook things and tell them what good girls they are :

IMG_2779

The first night didn’t exactly go to plan. They didn’t understand that ‘bed’ was actually inside the coop, and roosted on the top :

IMG_2765

So next morning saw me, in rubber gloves, scraping poo off the top of my formerly beautiful paint job. I put a layer of newspaper there with a length of timber on top, to prevent it blowing away, and they settled there again last night, but at least it was easier to clean this morning. Lying in bed, thinking, it was obvious I had to prevent them roosting there pretty quickly, before the top of the coop imprinted on them as ‘bed’.

I have a plan for tonight. This is what the coop looks like :

coop8

As you can see, there’s no door. But as dusk falls, I’m going to wedge a wire panel in front of the opening and move the nestbox away from the side. That will make a narrow space between the coop and the end wall of the run. I’m hoping to herd them into this tight space where the only escape will be to go through the nestbox opening into the coop. Then I’ll replace the nestbox and they’ll be inside for the night. If I do this for several nights, I’m hoping they’ll prefer to go in there by themselves rather than be herded in. This morning, they all went in there and poked about in the wood shavings, so fingers crossed for tonight, ‘cos there’s no Plan B.

Later edit: It worked a treat! One of the Girls ran into the coop and the others followed. They’re tucked up in their ‘proper’ bed, and so am I. ‘night all.

5 Responses to “Settling in…”

  1. notsomethingelse Says:

    This could turn into a drama of epic proportions. A sort of remake of ‘Upstairs, Downstairs’ 🙂

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      I’m learning that chooks have a mind of their own. It’s a very small mind, but nevertheless, their own. Coping with them is at least keeping me off the streets! 😉

      Like

  2. Chris Says:

    Hopefully they’ll stick with their new arrangements on the ground. It may take a bit of practice for them to remember every night. I was going to say before you solved the problem, that as they age, they tend to spend more time on the ground anyway. It’s only the bright and spritely young ones who have the energy to jump up so high.

    I’ve started a new moving blog, by the way. Nothing much on it yet, but if you get bored chatting with the chooks (as if that can ever happen 😉 ) come take a look.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      I’ve already had a look and bookmarked it and added it to my feed reader, so thanks for letting me know.

      Like

  3. narf77 Says:

    Wonderful stuff and my cucamelons have germinated :). Happy days all round 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.


