And God said…..

…..let there be cucamelons.

And there were cucamelons :

IMG_2996

IMG_2997

IMG_3000

And God saw that it was good.

And so did I. Now all I need to know is….when do I pick them? God? Anyone?

 

 

10 Responses to “And God said…..”

  1. narf77 Says:

    When they are about the size of a grape you pick them apparently. Mine are still small but growing slowly. This rain and weird weather we are having at the moment is making all of my veggies think it is autumn! Let us know how they taste 🙂

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      I picked one of the bigger ones. Very crunchy, just like a mini cucumber. Hope it’s a good crop.

      Liked by 1 person

      • narf77 Says:

        Did they taste like lemon? Very crunchy is my favourite texture when it comes to cucumbers 🙂

        Like

        • foodnstuff Says:

          No, I didn’t notice lemon. Maybe I picked too soon. I’ll try tasting one a week. There aren’t many at the moment…I’m just happy to get some at all.

          Liked by 1 person

          • narf77 Says:

            I went up to Sanctuary this morning and wasn’t very happy with what I saw. All of this rain and hot weather have turned my garden into a sodden pile of powdery mildew :(. Sigh…

            Like

            • foodnstuff Says:

              I’ve had powdery mildew for a couple of weeks now, even before the rain we got. I’m starting to pull stuff out now. The zucchinis and pumpkins set very little fruit so won’t be missed. Have you tried the milk spray? It didn’t work for me, neither did spraying everything with seaweed, which I do once a month. As you say… sigh…:-(

              Liked by 1 person

              • narf77 Says:

                Milk spray seems to infuriate the ants that were bringing scale so at least it accomplished some end ;). I have white fly, Powdery and scale. The scale is treated easily with white oil and I am just about to trial using bicarb soda water on the powdery on my poor little quince. It then got hit by pear and cherry slug and I am surprised it is still alive but quinces are very tenacious and this one is putting out new leaves already. I am not going to plant zucchini next year. Every single year they go over to the powdery side and I don’t particularly like zucchini much anyway so they won’t be missed. I have bags and bags of them in the freezer and they will probably still be there in 4 years time ;). I will plant those patty pan squash. They seem to be quite resilient when it comes to powdery and have a lot more uses in cooking (for me anyway). Ditto with the pumpkins. I got fruit set but then they got to about a tennis ball size and turned yellow and dropped off. Plenty of bees this year but only a few decent pumpkins that grew so I am not entirely sure why that happened. My guess is it was too cold and damp for too long and even manic bee activity couldn’t save the harvest. We appear to be in some kind of strange Queensland weather down here. 25C days but 100% humidity and it is really hard to sleep. I wish it would just rain more as then I at least wouldn’t have to water Sanctuary but it is just opressive with all of that water floating around in the air. I will be pulling out my zukes tomorrow. We physically attend TAFE most of the week so I have to do what I have to do on my days off. Try that bicarb water treatment for powdery next time. I hear it has a much better strike rate. Still to find something that predates clouds of white fly though…

                Like

              • narf77 Says:

                I keep forgetting to share this information with you. I remember it at 4.30 when I am in the dark watering Sanctuary, but today I am determined to share it! I came across this info a week or so back and it is most interesting and would be another way to keep cucamelons going other than via seed…

                http://growmyowneden.blogspot.com.au/2013/11/lessons-learned-growing-cucamelons.html

                http://www.suttons.co.uk/Gardening/Vegetable+Seeds/James+Wong+Homegrown+Revolution+Seeds/Cucamelon+Plants_239190.htm

                Sort of along the lines of you taking tomato cuttings but not 😉

                Like

  2. Bek Says:

    Well done! Mine are just starting to set fruit now. Shouldn’t be too long.
    When I’ve grown them before I found they were much like any other cucumber. Harvest when they start to fill out, but before they become bulbous. I didn’t find they have a particular taste, but they are a nice little addition to the veg garden.

    Like

Comments are closed.


