Drying fruit

I’m sure most of my readers are familiar with Kirsten’s blog at Milkwood Permaculture, but just in case not, here’s her latest post on drying fruit. She uses the same brand of dryer as I do and I can definitely endorse her recommendations.

As usual, her post is full of useful information on techniques, tips and methods. Go take a look.

Here’s my dryer with a tray of red capsicum slices ready to go :

IMG_2907

6 Responses to “Drying fruit”

  1. kayepea Says:

    Absolutely beautiful patterns, a delicious shade of red and becoming dried food for later makes it even more delectable Bev, good on you.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      And the best thing was, they were only $2.99 a kilo. They’re NEVER that cheap but my greengrocer had a glut of them.

      Like

  2. Chris Says:

    I read Kirsten’s article this morning, and found it interesting she left the skin on some of her fruit.

    Will you use the dried capsicum for cooking (ie: stews) or do you have another purpose in mind?

    Like

  3. narf77 Says:

    Off to check it out right now! (Milkwood’s posts are after yours in my RSS Feed 😉 )

    Like

Comments are closed.


