Winter eggs

I’m rapt that I’m still getting 3 or 4 eggs a week, despite the short winter days…..the first time I’ve had it happen in four years of chicken-keeping.

It’s all down to little Clover, my favourite of the three New Girls, because she was the one the others always bossed from the beginning. When she laid her first pointy one it was a novelty, but this is the last two week’s worth of pointyness from her :

image

I don’t know why they’re like this now or which end comes out first; I’m just happy to be able to have my scrambled egg treat each week. Go Clover!

3 Responses to “Winter eggs”

  1. kayepea Says:

    A regular but unusual shape that’s for sure, and I reckon the larger rounded end would come out first! 🙂

    Like

  2. kmfinigan Says:

    It could be that she needs a little more protein in her diet, particularly looking at the colour banding on the egg shell. I wrote some tired-and-true tips on keeping chooks laying through Autumn and Winter if you want some different approaches for the girls! http://bit.ly/1A8mLB1

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Yes, I’ve seen that post of yours. Thanks. They get a handful of hulled sunflower seeds each day as a treat and they’re high in protein. The other three that aren’t laying aren’t eating as much as when they were, but Clover (the one still laying) is still eating a lot. My breeder gives her hens a small can of tuna once a week, I might try that although I baulk at anything that doesn’t seem natural for them. Clover’s eggs were a normal shape up until a couple of weeks ago.

      Like

Comments are closed.


