Cherry Plum

Last December I wrote this post about a plant that had self-seeded in the garden and which I couldn’t identify. Much detective work plus lots of helpful comments from readers and it turned out to be a cherry plum. It had flowered for the first time last year and set a few fruits :

IMG_2814

The birds weren’t interested in them and I picked and ate them all. They were so delicious that I saved the seeds to plant. I put them in the fridge for a couple of months to give them some (pretend) winter chill, as recommended by a few web sites, and then sowed them and left the pot in the polyhouse where it was watered occasionally.

They’ve just germinated. I was rapt because I’ve never managed to germinate ordinary plum seeds :

IMG_3106

Three seedlings had appeared, but when I tipped out the pot I found three more just starting to germinate. I potted up 6 seedlings….100% germination :

IMG_3107

IMG_3108

When they’ve grown, I’m going to plant them in the food forest. I love getting more fruit trees without having to spend any money!

The original plant has produced a huge number of flowers this year. I’m hoping for a bumper crop :

IMG_3111

9 Responses to “Cherry Plum”

  1. narf77 Says:

    AWESOME! Cherry plums are all over the place around here, that’s why I knew what it was ;). Seriously though, I have some little seedlings that grew from locally collected seeds that I am about to plant out this year. The possums will strip the leaves but they are tenacious little buggers (like roses, their cousins) and will keep growing nude. I will be planting out lots of them all over the place. I had a vision of our entire fenceline being planted out with Washington hawthorns (very spiky to stop the hunters coming onto our property to shoot the wallabies :() and cherry plums in a dense thicket so that maybe the possums would stop at the boundary lines to feast and be full by the time they made it to Sanctuary. I can dream ;). Kudos on your successes Bev. You keep me motivated in the best kinds of ways 🙂

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Have you ever grown ordinary plums from seed? I’ve never been able to do it, but with the cherry plum success, I might have another go. Maybe putting the seeds in the fridge is what did it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • narf77 Says:

        No luck with regular plums and I have tried hard. I just found some dried sloes I had saved a while ago. Bet they would grow as they grow wild in the hawthorn hedges not far from here and NOTHING is going to climb up those thorny buggers to pinch their bitter astringent fruit (well twice anyway 😉 ) but I am betting that they needed stratification over winter but I am going to try them anyway. Cherry plums are all over the place around here and they look so pretty when they bloom and most animals give them a miss (apart from blackbirds, they will eat anything fruity). Cherry plums are the blowflies of the fruit world. Best of luck not growing them 😉

        Like

  2. Deb McSephney Says:

    Cherry plums make wonderful jam, if you freeze the fruit first it’s easier to removed the stones. How lovely to have six little seedlings.

    Like

  3. Frogdancer Says:

    That’s fantastic. Well done!

    Like

  4. Chris Says:

    I love seeing those little seedlings emerge, when you’ve collected the seed and waited patiently for something to grow. It’s so exciting when it does! 🙂

    I planted an oak seed (I think) which I collected from the ground at our local, botanical garden. I hope to plant it out in the gully one day. I hear they grow very slowly.

    I bet your cherry-plum seedlings will do well in your food forest. I hope this years crop will be more plentiful. I won’t see another mulberry, thanks to the numerous parrots round here. 😉

    Like

  5. Fiona Kiriakidis Says:

    Wow, that’s great. I found a beautiful cherry plum tree when walking today and had to take some fruit from the ground in the hope that I can germinate them! Love your blog – keep up the good work.

    Like

Comments are closed.


