May update

Yes, I know it’s almost June, but nothing much happened during May and I’ve been hibernating inside in front of the fire for the most part of each day.

So just a few quick photos.

I’ve given up sowing seed in the conventional way, potting up and growing on seedlings ready to plant out. Instead I’ve taken the lazy way out and sowed thickly in wicking boxes and large tubs. This is Lacinato Kale in a tub :

image

Another tub of the same, with some chickweed coming up as well :

image

I’m harvesting a few seedlings to add to other greens and will eventually let the rest grow on into bigger plants.

The leaves on the turmeric plant in its pot in the polyhouse are dying back, so I’m giving it minimal water now. I’ve never grown it before so I assume that I will be able to harvest the tubers (if there are any!), when all the leaves have died back (helpful hints welcome) :

image

I cut into my only summer-grown pumpkin, the Naranka Gold variety, hoping there would be viable seed and there was plenty. The flavour was a bit disappointing…not as sweet as I’d hoped, but I’ll be able to try growing it again this season :

image

The purple-podded peas are producing plenty of pods but only in small quantities each day. I’m shelling them and throwing the peas into the freezer, seeing how they go without blanching this time. It occurred to me that blanching is really only done to destroy the enzymes that make cut surfaces go brown and start to decay, so I hoped maybe since they are just whole peas with no cut surfaces, freezing might work without the need to blanch :

image

Tamarillos are ripening and I’ve been looking into trying a small batch of tamarillo jam. Recipes on the Net are many and varied, so I’ll pick one and have a go :

image

Lots of rain in May has meant a huge crop of mushies, many more and bigger than I’ve ever seen here before. I’ve been drying them in the Excalibur dehydrator and storing them for casseroles and soups.

image

Rain? Yes, it finally did. We had 127 mm (5 inches in the old scale), twice Melbourne’s average of 68 mm for May. The big tank is full and the overflow has been going into the 3 pools at the rear of the property and they’re now full and running over. All 3 dried out completely in summer, only the second time in 17 years the big one has been bone dry (it’s about a metre deep in the centre when full) and about 5 metres in diameter.

So that ‘s about it for May. If I don’t post this soon, it’ll be June and I’ll have to be thinking about another update. Time flies!

10 Responses to “May update”

  1. Bek Says:

    I have always directly frozen peas so I think yours will be fine!

    Like

  2. narf7 Says:

    I love the free seeding idea. Will be copying it ad hoc. One week away from the major fridge wicking installation (TAFE holidays) and Steve and I are stuffed full of the flu. Always works that way doesn’t it? 😉 Can’t help you with the turmeric as mine is starting to die down on the deck as well. I am going to cross my fingers and see if I get some tubers. I have some planted out in the ground in Sanctuary but Sanctuary is about to be completely trashed (aside from the perennial beds) to create the wicking palace so I had best rootle around a bit and see if there were any tuberous results this year. We had so much rain we flooded. I am guessing that means we will have a long, hot and very dry summer again. This year I will be ready for it! Lovely post Bev 🙂

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Fran, thanks for the comments and glad to see you’re OK as I was wondering about all the rain you’ve had there, plus you haven’t posted in a while. Hope you get rid of the flu ASAP.

      Liked by 1 person

      • narf7 Says:

        You and me both Bev! Yeah we have a solid few weeks of install coming up for the fridge wickers and there will be a post about it for sure.

        Like

  3. Jane Says:

    Love your seeding ideas. I will definitely try that, especially through the summer, when I am always short of fresh greens for me and the chooks. Also I was wondering if you tried the dried tomatoes in oil.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Jane, thanks for getting in touch. I think the chooks get more greens than I do actually.

      I haven’t bothered about putting the dried tomatoes in oil as they seem to do pretty well on their own (i.e they don’t go mouldy), plus they are great as nibbles and would be a bit messy to eat covered in oil! I sprinkle a bit of salt on each cut surface before drying to help remove a bit of the moisture and that makes them tastier as nibbles (they were awfully bland when I tried without it!) They aren’t dried to a crisp, but are still soft (ish) and OK to eat as is. I generally throw them into risotto and casseroles as is, but they can be soaked in water and hydrated before use, too.

      Like

  4. fergie51 Says:

    That’s a great idea re the seed starting. Look forward to hearing about the turmeric, good luck! How long has it taken your camarillo to fruit. I have once in its 3rd season but nothing so far. Good to hear about Bek having frozen pea success, I tried that with corn this year and it was surprisingly good.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      I don’t know when I planted the tamarillos, but I reckon they would have flowered in at least their second year or third at the most. They need lots of feeding I think….try some potash to see if it will promote flowering. Was yours grown from seed?

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.


