Well…er…I’m back

Three reasons really.

First, when I stopped writing in mid-August and said I’d call it a day, I think I was in the throes of the winter blues; the garden was looking woeful and there was nothing much to write about. Now winter is over; sunny days, lots of life-giving rain and spring flowers everywhere, have made me feel better. As I’ve been walking around the garden and  seeing something happening I’ve thought, “I could put that on the blog…oh, no, I can’t.” So now I can!

Second, people are still signing up to the blog. It floored me at first; why would they want to sign up to something that wasn’t going to continue? After thinking about it, I realised that they’d probably come in through the side door and not the front…..reading old posts via a search…..and hadn’t seen the last post which announced I was stopping. I’m feeling a bit guilty about them….signing up to receive an email notification about a new post that would never come. When I looked at the blog’s stats just now, it is still getting up to 50 hits a day. I was very surprised!

Third, while I will still post about what’s happening in the garden, I want to add in some posts about the bigger global picture and some thoughts about  it, particularly self-sufficiency and sustainability issues and of course, energy decline (after all the blog’s by-line is, “Energy decline and self-sufficiency ………..”). Energy plays a major role in everything I do, so it deserves a greater input on the blog.

So there y’go. Now I have to actually write a post and see if I can remember how to ‘save draft’, ‘preview’ and ‘publish’.

I think a tour of the garden is required. With camera in hand, of course.

10 Responses to “Well…er…I’m back”

  1. Yvonne Kelly Says:

    Welcome back.

    Yvonne Kelly

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris Says:

    Yay!!! Glad to see you back and I look forward to reading about what you’re up to, and your thoughts. Missed your blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. notsomethingelse Says:

    Nice to see you back. Although, for me, it doesn’t seem like you ever went away 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aussiejambo Says:

    Great to see you back!! I haven’t ever commented on your blog before but have really missed it. I don’t have much to contribute as I am only a novice but I will say thankyou in advance. I can’t wait for your next post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. narf7 Says:

    Lucky I didn’t bin you from my RSS Feed Reader. I am a sentimental old bollocks and couldn’t find it in my heart to dump your blog so left it in situ in my RSS Feed. More than glad to see you back Bev :). I have to say Sanctuary is a sodden ruined mass. Our entire property has reverted to a swamp. We have tadpoles in our fridge wickers as we haven’t been able to drag them to their new resting place as the soil is SO wet they would sink (till they hit rocks…) so I have been avoiding the garden steadfastly for the duration. I have pretty much ceased blogging about anything as all I am really doing at the moment is crocheting and beavering away at my studies so really nothing much of interest to tell people. Glad people are still signing up and reading your blog Bev. It goes to show that what you are saying has an audience and will continue to do so. Lovely to see you back my friend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Frogdancer Says:

    Yay!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Bek Says:

    Good to have you back. I totally agree about the mid winter blogging slump. Spring is totally different. I look forward to the garden tour!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kayepea Says:

    Good to see you back on the blog Bev. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Eve Inbetta Says:

    Good stuff, glad to have you back

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.


