The implications of collapsing ERoEI

Judging by the relatively low level of interest the past few articles published here regarding the collapse of fossil fuel ERoEI (along with PV’s) have attracted, I can only conclude that mos…

Source: The implications of collapsing ERoEI

Reblogged from Damn the Matrix

8 Responses to “The implications of collapsing ERoEI”

  1. narf7 Says:

    I don’t think its a matter of a low level of interest. More like people have no idea what to say when they are faced with posts like this. The global upheaval surrounding us is frankly terrifying and most people are completely overwhelmed by the implications. Zealous blogs like Damn the Matrix tell it like it is but are entirely the bearers of “bad news”. People want to see something positive so that they think that they have a chance of being able to affect a positive change. If you tell people that they are buggered and that there is nothing that they can do then I doubt that many of them are going to be patting you on the back for telling them this. I reckon that’s why people aren’t commenting on these posts. That plus people are still on holidays 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Good comment, Fran. I’m reblogging posts like this (after all it is an energy decline blog as well as a self-sufficiency one), because people like Mike at DTM can write about it better than I can and also because what I’m seeing in talking to people, is that most have no understanding of the issues and what’s ahead. Everyone seems to think we will segue effortlessly into a future of solar and wind power and electric vehicles and all the fossil fuel/climate change problems will be solved. I can understand the reasons for that—unless you’re a collapse-interested geek like me you won’t do the required reading (I don’t mean you personally, just the gen. pub.).

      People will think the loss of their present lifestyles is ‘bad news’ of course, but to me and many others, the collapse of the most destructive human system that’s ever existed (industrial capitalism) is the best news in a lifetime. Like everyone else, I like my creature comforts and don’t want to see them disappear, but I also don’t want to live on a planet that is being progressively torn to pieces by human activities (including mine). You and Steve and I and many others understand the benefits of living simply, growing and sharing healthy food and community and this future is the ‘good news’. If only it was easier to get the message across to others 😦

      WordPress tells me I have 120 followers. Probably less than 10% of those have ever commented. I have no idea how aware the rest are, hence the reason for reblogging posts that might help wake people up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • narf7 Says:

        You are absolutely right Bev. I only have 43 followers this incarnation and sometimes I think I am trying to convert a brick wall but I am passionate about living more simply with a whole lot less. I can’t even tell most people about how we actually live as I am sure they would think we were tramps! I agree with you about the fact that we need to understand that the collapse of how we live today is going to be bad news for mainstream society but good news for the planet. I think that most people aren’t stupid enough to think that this can go on ad infinitum. Scientist after scientist after scientist are ringing alarm bells and saying “this is happening folks!” but it’s much easier to stick your head in the sand and say “nope, everythings fine” and ignore it than make changes in how you live and lets face it, it’s not like governments or big business are doing anything to quell the tide as the more people spending their arses off the better as far as they are concerned. The ONLY reason that I blog at all is to try to show people out there that this is entirely possible. I wish I had a bit more cash so that we could throw alternative energy into the mix. Who knows, I might take a course in electronics and bloody well make a system myself! People on the bones of their arse need to know that this isn’t just a solution for people with cash but is a positive way forward that will give them a bit of the powerbase back and that growing their own food and sharing seeds, cuttings, hope etc. with their local communities is entirely empowering. People have lost hope. They don’t know what to do as there are horrific statistics flying around and terrified people don’t make good decisions and are VERY easy to herd (Mr trumps election result is a good example of that) if you tell them that you will give them a way to keep everything that they have. Liars have made a lot of money out of milking the public and the environment but when the collapse does inevitably come, mainstream society simply isn’t going to be ready and has put far too much trust in governments and corporations that couldn’t give a stuff about either them, or the earth. I want to show people it isn’t all that hard to do this. You just have to start changing your habits. One month is all it takes to get used to new habits. Steve is just over a month into his new vegan habit (whether you agree with it or not it is certainly a MUCH cheaper way to live 😉 ), no drinking booze (he was drinking every day) and our bills have dropped incredibly and our lives have simplified again as we are attempting to eat only whole foods and foods that we grow and prepare ourselves. Paring back our reliance on supermarkets and turning to locally available and grown options is the only way to ride out this approaching tide of hopelessness. I just want to try to show anyone who will listen how they can affect change themselves. That’s what keeps me in this space otherwise I wouldn’t bother.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane Says:

    I agree, I read both posts and words failed me. All I can think is please not in my lifetime, and fingers crossed they are wrong.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Jane, not knowing your age, I can’t comment on: “not in my lifetime”, but no, they’re not wrong. Human society is coming up against limits to growth and a decline in the amount of ‘net’ energy that has made industrial civilisation possible. Life will become more simple, that’s all. By simplifying your life now, learning to grow your own food and doing more with less, you can, as the current saying goes, “collapse early and avoid the rush”. The process may not be pleasant for some people, but there is light at the end of the tunnel and a better future for a lot less people, on a (hopefully) healthier planet.

      Like

  3. Jane Says:

    Thank you for that reply. You have reassured me a bit. I don’t mind a simple life. I have the internet and would miss that, but I have no TV or radio as the reception is poor here and I don’t miss them at all. As for age, just let’s say I am old enough to be on the age pension.

    Liked by 1 person

    • foodnstuff Says:

      It is all very worrying, I agree, but I’m of pension age too and from my reading it appears that there may be enough oil to ensure I may get through the rest of life without too much trauma. The thing I worry about most is an oil supply shock, as in this country we don’t keep a 90-day supply of fuel in reserve as we’re supposed to do as members of the International Energy Agency. There are things that we can do to prepare for such an eventuality and I might write a post about it and what I do.

      Like

  4. Chris Says:

    I like what you said to Jane, about writing a post about how to prepare. I’ve not followed much of DTM. I prefer to read about people doing things to change the future, rather than seeing diagrams of how we’re all doomed.

    That’s nothing against DTM for putting the information out there. To help people change though, we have to show them an example. Rather than just dish out the bad news. I don’t follow DTM that closely, so maybe they do show how to transition too?

    Which is why I like to read your blog. You share similar views to DTM, and post it on your blog. But you mostly demonstrate the day to day, ways to change how to live. Which is easier for people to transition – seeing what is possible and making incremental changes.

    Change is difficult. I thought it was just me (as I wrote about it on my blog recently) but it seems to be a species thing, too. We really do resist change. Incremental change, seems more doable though.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.


