Finding new food-growing blogs

When someone new elects to follow this blog, or someone makes a comment for the first time, WordPress very kindly sends me an email to that effect and if the person has a blog/website of their own, it puts in the URL and suggests I might like to go and ‘see what they’re up to’. Which I do.

So, in the last 2 days I’ve found 2 new blogs which I’ll share with you.

The first is from Tassie (for overseas readers that’s what we call Tasmania—the large island state south of the mainland where they have stunning rainforests, Tasmanian Devils and other sundry goodies—I’ve been there!). It’s written by Louise, who re-located from the mainland to a farm and so not unnaturally it’s called First Time Farmer. I’ve bookmarked it and will become a regular reader. Go take a look.

The second is Mountain Herbs. Here’s what they say about themselves: We like growing perennial edibles and medicinal herbs, berries and unusual food plants. Our cool climate nursery is located in Katoomba, a renowned tourist destination in the Blue Mountains. We are always on the hunt for new and exciting plants.

Sounds good, although I’ve had a couple of disasters in ordering plants to be posted (the fault of Australia Post, not the suppliers—when it is NOT the fault of AP?), but I’m hankering after their pink-flowered strawberry!

When I checked out their blog I found the latest post is about elderberry and the reason why most elderberries fail to set berries here. Mine did just that! It flowered, but I left the flowers to produce berries and they didn’t, so now I know why. Next time I won’t waste them, but will be using them to have a go at elderflower cordial and other elderflower treats.

Here is my elderflower doing its thing in spring. Very pretty and thanks again to Maree of Around the Mulberry Tree who gave it to me (and that’s another blog you might like to check out) :

image

 

4 Responses to “Finding new food-growing blogs”

  1. fergie51 Says:

    Thanks Bev, always nice to visit some new interesting blogs. I still haven’t had any berries on my elderflower so I am keen to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. narf7 Says:

    Excellent share Bev. My daughter bought a pink flowering strawberry from Bunnings. They sell them so it might be an option if you want to get one without A.P. turning it upside down, throwing it from a moving van at 100km/hour and pouring vinegar on it just before delivering it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Frogdancer Says:

    My elderberry was growing beautifully until Scout decided to prune it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

