Wildlife carers

I have a wildlife carer living 5 minutes from me. Over the years I’ve taken ducks, baby birds and possums to her for attention. Today I took a little sugar glider that had become entangled in the barbed wire on the top of the fence (god knows why it was ever put on the fencing here……this isn’t farming country).

A neighbour helped to cut the wire while I held him tight. He was very feisty, yelling abuse at us and biting. I popped him, with the wire still attached, into a pillowcase and took him to the “nice lady down the road who will look after you.”

I’m always amazed at the dedication of wildlife carers. They’re on call 24/7. It’s nothing to have to get up in the wee small hours to feed tiny, furry creatures special wildlife ‘sustagen’ with an eyedropper.

Once, when I called in, she had an injured cormorant in the shower recess. She would open the door and throw it a fish. Another time there was a baby wombat in the spare bedroom. Most of the patients are outside though, in various cages and nest boxes.

Wildlife carers receive some government assistance. But most pay out of their own pockets for the huge quantities of special food and housing that they need. I always make sure when I take her an injured animal that I give her something towards its care. Even just donating unwanted bird cages or offering to make little ‘possum bags’ out of material scraps can be a help.

If you have a wildlife carer in your area, why not call in and see if you can offer any help. Some of them need volunteers to go and pick up injured wildlife, because they can’t often get away to do it themselves. They do a tremendous job, working quietly away in the background to help the tiny creatures that so often are the victims of thoughtless human activities.

I’m writing this because she’s just phoned me back to say the little glider went to the vet and was anaesthetised while he was disentangled from the wire and his injuries were stitched up. Now he’ll be on antibiotics for about 10 days. There’s a good chance he’ll make a full recovery and then I’ll go down and pick him up and release him back into his own home.

The carer tells me that we are gradually losing these species one by one, quietly, in the background and very few people are aware or care. It’s heart-breaking.

7 Responses to “Wildlife carers”

  1. narf7 Says:

    We have rescued a lot of injured animals over the years and have taken them to wildlife carers. After reading your post I think I will contact our local wildlife carer and see if there is anything that we can do to assist her. Cheers for sharing this Bev.

    Like

  2. kayepea Says:

    Good post Bev, always timely to have reminders that wildlife carers can always use a financial or in-kind hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fergie51 Says:

    What a lovely post and a great idea. I have never thought about this, probably as I haven’t been slapped in the face with a need for it. I will find out who we have locally and maybe some of my old blankets and towels can be put to a meaningful use! Thanks.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      It’s amazing what she can make use of, plus she has a very innovative husband who’s put together all sorts of common household items to serve as ‘houses’ for hollow-dwelling animals like possums and gliders. When I was there once, she had 30 ‘possums-in-residence’. Bunches of leaves of special food plants are often required, something I would never have thought of. I’m sure any help you can give will be much appreciated. They are wonderful, special, caring people.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jane Says:

    I hate barbed wire, it’s on most of my fences and I wish I could afford to re-do them all. I didn’t put them up they were already here. It keeps nothing in,or out, just tears them to bits on the way through or over. I’ve also used the carer service, mostly for injured kangaroos, once for a young cockie out of the nest too soon and once for a baby possum that a magpie and a cockatoo seemed to be tormenting. There was no sign of Mum. The wildlife carers are truly special people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

