What we’re losing

Restoring Mayberry is one of my favourite blogs. In this latest post, The past is a foreign country, Brian Kaller documents the way our society is changing and the  important things we’re losing.

I suppose young people today know none of this and probably have no concerns anyway. They will grow up in a destructive, damaged system as destructive, damaged adults and think it is all quite normal.

12 Responses to “What we’re losing”

  1. notsomethingelse Says:

    I’ve had Brian Kaller on my blogspot reading list for some years, though since I don’t commonly visit that site any more I haven’t got to read his stuff either. He refers to his daughter and I remember he went through a period when she was obviously quite young where all or most of his posts were about the person he called ‘The Girl’. There is often a very special connection of fathers with their daughters and it was good to read of his experiences.

    It is also good to be re-aquainted with his work now. This is a very special account, of immense value.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      I didn’t think I’d been reading Brian’s blog for as long as I have, but the Girl was just a tiny tot when I started and she’s now a teenager! I love the way he teaches her….she is going to grow up into one hell of a smart cookie. I hope he keeps writing about her…it will be interesting to see what course she takes in life. I can’t see her ending up on a supermarket checkout.

      I had a similar experience with my own Dad although he wasn’t as educated as Brian and times were vastly different then. We used to lie out on the back lawn on a summer’s night and he taught me to identify all the constellations in the Milky Way and all the names of the major stars. It fostered a lifelong interest in astronomy for me (light pollution wasn’t as bad then as it is now.) He ended up buying me a small telescope which I still have (but seldom use now.

      Like

  2. wingedelmfarm Says:

    Yep, this was one of his best pieces (and, he has many well written and thoughtful pieces). Glad to have discovered your blog.
    Cheers,
    Brian (from over at the South Roane Agrarian)

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Brian, thanks for getting in touch. I have bookmarked your blog and will enjoy reading through it.

      Like

  3. narf7 Says:

    When I was a kid, if you wanted to get in touch with relatives overseas it was via airmail letters as phone calls were prohibitively expensive. My grandmother went back to England twice before she died to see her family again. The world was a MUCH smaller place. You dealt with what was in your immediate neighbourhood and your community. We had a butcher, a baker, many small businesses that sold “things” a small hardware shop and a small grocery store that sold fresh veggies and other edibles. We went to school in a small local school that everyone from the surrounding districts bussed to. We didn’t have a phone at our house till I was about 15 and I never learned to use the phone till my husband and I got one years later. I still hate using the phone! If you wanted entertainment you waited till there was a community dance and everyone got together and all of the women brought “a plate” and it was the social outing for the year. The community had small groups of entertainers that would occasionally put on some kind of revue and again, everyone brought a plate and made a community event out of it where all of the famers etc. got together for a chin wag over a sausage roll and a cup of tea.

    We had the drive in and that’s where the kids met up under hot summer night skies and dreaded that man with the torch who would randomly check for lacivous behaviour. The community was everything. It worked like a well oiled machine and the inputs and outputs were remarkably well balanced. Now we have everything fragmented and communities are scattered far and wide over vast distances. I rarely speak to my children and they are only 50km away from me. I might be able to connect with strangers all over the world via social media but there is no sense of community like we used to have where you just “belonged” because you were there. Our communities are not that far gone, just forgotten. The important parts of being a community member are being left to the older people and carolled into community groups to help the elderly etc.

    The youth of today are entirely technology focused. We go to TAFE with kids who are constantly monitoring their mobile phones right through class. I watched one of our lecturers explaining something to one of them who was scrolling on his facebook feed as the lecturer talked. I don’t even think that they know how rude they are any more because no-one has taught them that they need to pay attention. Their attention spans are all over the place, spread between the constant barage of social media that dictates trends and how to live their lives and distracts them so much that they haven’t got the time to form meaningful relationships with each other and life is fragmented into a flickering screen and how many “likes” or “friends” you get.

    Life is changing so fast. I am lucky to have lived in a past age where community meant something. I know how important it is because I now see how alienated people are without it. The rates of suicide, depression etc. are skyrocketing as people constantly ask themselves “what is my point to be here?” and there aren’t a lot of answers unless you wade through the mire of garbage now stuffing the internet to find the few gems that are still there buried under the morass. I loved this article. Thank you for sharing it with us Bev.

    Liked by 1 person

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Fran, I can’t believe students in your course are actually being rude enough to use their phones in class. I mean, I know I see people using them in all sorts of places (probably take them into the toilet with them), but that really takes the cake! It is so symptomatic of our society now that when you go to a funeral, the first thing the celebrant needs to do is ask you to turn off your mobile phone. I have a clunky old mobile, (not a smart phone) but never use it….I keep it for emergencies only. People think I’m odd….but I like being odd!

      Still, as the world runs out of oil and the energy available to do all this crappy stuff declines, the old ways will come back…it is inevitable.

      Liked by 1 person

      • narf7 Says:

        I think that the “internet of things” is an insidious way to get us to consume more whilst harvesting our data. I will NOT be buying into it. We have had to maintain a degree of technology to get through our current courses and the internet is my means of finding things out and we do have a phone (that is supposed to be smart but appears to have gotten altzheimers and I don’t care as we only use it for texting my kids (my only means of communicating with them most of the time…) and when Steve goes to do the shopping and wants to ask me if I want something from the city. A phone is supposed to be a way to communicate NOT a way to opt out of the real world! Our lecturer said “everyone put down your phones” and the kids stopped texting yesterday for all of about 20 minutes and then they were right back on their phones scrolling and looking at their facebook and twitter feeds. It’s no wonder Mr T Rump is constantly updating his feed. That’s how our kids have been conditioned to find out their news and information!

        Like

        • foodnstuff Says:

          The world is truly insane. The best we can do is back out of it as much as possible and hope to maintain some of our own sanity in the process.

          Liked by 1 person

          • narf7 Says:

            I was supposed to be writing my script for my short drama film yesterday but someone on FB mentioned that I should watch a series of 4 hour long episodes made by the BBC called “The Century of The Self” and so I did…all 4 hours of it! It was incredibly enlightening and depressing at the same time. It makes riveting watching as it explains the origins of marketing as it is today and how big business and governments alike are manipulating the masses to consume in order to damp down their revolutionary tendencies. Very interesting and right up your alley I would think. Here’s the link to the first one and the other three are listed on the right hand side. I watched them all in a row to get the maximum understanding of the series. I was pretty gutted by the end of them but a whole lot more educated and enlightened and determined not to buy into the “machine”…

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Chris Says:

    I enjoyed reading the article, and vastly agreed with what they shared. Ultimately, today’s youth ARE missing something by the absence of elders, and being removed from what it takes to keep them alive.

    But my mother and I, did come from a small community – the kind that gets shut off from development; running mostly on farmers and rural economy. Unfortunately, if you were seen as an outsider, foreign, “loose”, unmarried, female, or had any hint of colour or other such scandal in your family background, then you were black-listed from the community.

    None of this had to happen of course, it just had to be “spoken” of, and you were immediately guilty. So it became immensely harder to receive that wonderful community help, the author praises. I witnessed many power games, where women high in community status, ensured those lower in the pecking order, stayed there.

    So as much as I agree, today’s youth are ignorant of a lot of wisdom about life and death, what they have adopted more so, than previous generations, was tolerance of difference. They seem willing to embrace someone who is gay, trans-gender, single parent or a refugee from an war-torn country, without the kind of prejudice I saw growing up.

    Somewhere in between, would be nice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.


