Beyond Collapse—the future of civilisation

I’ve just posted this podcast to my Facebook page and decided to share it here:

http://legalise-freedom.com/radio/john-michael-greer-beyond-collapse-the-future-of-civilization/

It’s an interview with John Michael Greer, one of the world’s foremost writers on the predicament facing mankind as it heads into the twin crises of climate change and oil depletion over the next few decades (oil depletion) and centuries (climate change).

Some of my readers may have been regular followers of John’s blog, The Archdruid Report, which he wrote for 11 years and which has has just folded up in favour of a new blog he calls Ecosophia.  The new blog will examine the false stories we’ve made up for ourselves about our place in the Universe and where those stories have finally taken us—a damaged species on an increasingly damaged planet.

John makes the point that the human beliefs in the myth of progress and the ‘worship’ of humans as god, need to be abandoned in favour of a new story; one which sees the natural world as a sacred place and humans as just one small part of it. This is nothing new to me—along with many others, I’ve always felt a spiritual connection to the natural world. I’ve never accepted the idea that it is just a load of resources for humans to plunder for their own benefit.

Growing a garden and especially one which provides most of your food, is the first step towards an awareness of the natural world and a connection with all living things. If we don’t all start making these connections soon, and start teaching the next generation, we doom them to a life of mental and physical ill-health on an increasingly sick planet.

 

8 Responses to “Beyond Collapse—the future of civilisation”

  1. narf7 Says:

    “Progress”, “Economic stability”, “Custom based consumerism” all a thinly veiled slight of hand to keep the masses in check. Basically it’s all jargonese for the one percenters to keep their power and profits firmly in their pockets whilst using the rest of us to generate that wealth and power base. We trundle along buying “stuff” because we have been led by the nose since early last century when Freud discovered how to mentally manipulate us all. We see the word “trending” and our heart rate starts to go up. We have been conditioned, like lab rats, to do what big business and governments want us to do and we are being groomed by social media to be desensitised to communities and to think about “self” as the centre of the universe so that they can sell more units with less outrage as we all fall into complacency of consumerism because thinking about the outcomes of our actions is all too hard.

    Those of us who back away from consumerism are deemed mentally unstable or just plain “weird”. Why on EARTH would you want to recycle your own turds?! Obviously degenerates…I was listening to a radio chat show the other day and the talk show host said “why would we want to go back to the dark ages of wood stoves when we can all have clean electrical heaters?” followed a couple of days down the line by “My heat pump gave up the ghost on the coldest day of the year. It made a funny noise and stopped heating the air…” schadenfreude is a most splendid thing 😉

    We need to take a stand against the bullshit we are all being fed and turn our backs on how today’s society has been groomed to act and start thinking for ourselves. The insidious uptake of technology and the media has everyone staring at their phones in order to see how to keep up with the Jones’s and how to live their lives but life is just slipping away in the process. I learned how to spin the other day. I will keep working towards a technology free life. I am looking for an old treddle sewing machine now. I want to throw as much technology out the window as I can. I am even contemplating buying a large stone and pestle from an Indian shop so that I can grind my own “everything” myself.

    We are fat, sick, depressed, unsatisfied and dying so can anyone tell me why we just keep marching along the same frigging road to destruction?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Gidday, Fran. To everything you said….yes, yes, yes, and yes.

      I applaud your desire to live more simply. You are way ahead of the game compared to me, but I’m getting there! My Mum had an old treadle sewing machine, I wish I had it now.

      You forgot to list ‘stupid’ in your last paragraph; that’s one of the main reasons why we keep marching, etc…..

      And oh, yes, schadenfreude is a wonderful thing. It’s about all us ‘weirdos’ have left. 😉

      (How’s the weather over there? Bloody cold here)

      Liked by 1 person

      • narf7 Says:

        You stole “Bloody cold” so I will have to settle for “Friggin’ Freezing!” We have actually had more days of frost this year than I have seen in the entire 7 years that we have been living here. I have been scouring Gumtree for old treadle sewing machines. I can pick one up for $160 and I was given a really good German made electric sewing machine and I found plans for how to retrofit it to a treadle (basically just removing the engine and putting a band from where the ending runs the wheel down to the treadle) so Steve and I are going to muck around. Obviously, if the treadle machine that we end up buying still works, we will go with that. Just a short aside, nothing to do with what we have talked about here, I planted some lovely purple organic locally grown garlic and some of our large elephant garlic cloves and the only cloves that have grown are the elephant garlic. Any idea why?

        Like

        • foodnstuff Says:

          We’ve had the first frosts I’ve ever seen here in 17 years. Good luck with the sewing machine, if you and Steve can’t get it to work, no-one can.

          Don’t know about the garlic, mine took an age to come up and it’s usually very quick. It was locally grown too. Nothing in the garden seems to be behaving as normal now…..things are flowering out of season, I don’t see any bees any more, it’s all just totally out of whack.

          Liked by 1 person

          • narf7 Says:

            We had about 2 weeks of “summer” and a couple of hot days last summer. It rained a lot and now we have had very little rain and it’s been very cold. It will be interesting to see what Spring brings. I will let you know how the sewing machine pans out 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris Says:

    I like JMG for engaging new ways of thinking into society, but I don’t like how he generalises other religions, to do it. It’s a very big club of individuals, he subjects to possessing token beliefs, cherry picked, according to mainstream popularity. This is what society says a “Christian” believes. Or a Muslim. Then he wants to start a conversation about personal beliefs, on his terms?

    I don’t believe it’s intentional, or that he has a particular agenda in bringing down religion. But what he doesn’t understand (because he’s an outsider) is how many religious people are already walking their own spirituality. They may identify as Christian or Muslim, but it doesn’t mean their perceptions of spirituality, emerge solely from a holy book, or even what the “church” says.

    So on one hand, I’m looking forward to reading about his thoughts on “intentional” spirituality, for individuals. But on the other, I’m not looking forward to the generalisations he tends to spruik on behalf of “religion”. I don’t believe it’s necessary to go there.

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Hi Chris, could you explain what you mean by ‘outsider’ (i.e. JMG). Also, I’m not sure I got the bit about ‘generalisations on behalf of religion’. Maybe I should read his first post again. Did you see that in his first new blogpost or have you been reading his old blog for a while and got it from there?

      I know he follows druidry (I admit I haven’t gone into it much) and I know he believes in reincarnation (I don’t—not without scientific evidence), but I liked his old blog for the ways in which he approached the predicament that humanity faces and some of the possible solutions.

      Like

      • Chris Says:

        I wouldn’t profess to suggest what a druid believes, when I don’t have a lot of experience in what they believe. In the same way JMG is an outsider, when generalising what other religions believe. He only has an outsiders view, not one who practices the daily reality.

        I hope that explains a little better, what I meant?

        I find the exercise of having to “judge” what another religion believes, unnecessary. When we can just get to the discussion about environmental spirituality, and how that might take shape. 🙂

        JMG (in his old blog) would often quote, what some religious zealot wrote in the past. Then he would try to explain how that influences, the same religion today. He could be right, or maybe he’s not. But can we really judge rightly? It’s highly subjective.

        Subjective consciousness, is best put to work, influencing our own understanding. Rather than subjecting what others believe, to us. I hope that made sense?

        Like

Comments are closed.


