Broccoli rice

Cauliflower rice was all the go a while ago. I tried it, thought it was a good way to eat a vegetable I didn’t really like all that much and when it was on special I bought extra, blitzed it in the Thermomix (a food processor does just as well) and froze it in portions to add to soups, casseroles and stir-frys.

I tried broccoli after that and it went just as well. At the moment, it seems to be plentiful and this morning it was only $2.50 per kg in the supermarket. I bought 3 large heads and gave it the same treatment as the cauliflower:

All ready, in individual portions, for the freezer:

In the past, when broccoli was cheap, I bought extra, broke it into bite-sized pieces and blanched it before freezing. It’s never been really great like that—the pieces are soggy when they defrost and always seem to have that yucky freezer taste. So this is a great way to incorporate it into meals. I don’t blanch it; don’t even defrost it; just throw it straight from the freezer into whatever I’m cooking.

I did the stems too, a more chunky chop, and they’re going into a slow-cooker casserole tomorrow.

10 Responses to “Broccoli rice”

  1. Jane Says:

    What a great idea. I love broccoli stems peeled and eaten raw, also the thick stem bit of cabbage, the pale core of the stem is so yum, but they have to be really fresh ideally just picked from the garden.

    Like

  2. notsomethingelse Says:

    I haven’t yet tried this (I just like looking at the pictures) but here is an extract from a book I have. Details below:

    “Silky and thick, broccoli leaves can be sautéed like any braising green, though you’re most likely to encounter large quantities of them when you grow the vegetable yourself. With the exception of the thick, fibrous outer layer, broccoli stalks are perfectly edible. In fact, I think they’re the sweetest part of the vegetable. Some people recommend using a vegetable peeler to peel them, but I find it easier to use a chef’s knife. You’re left with long, rectangular batons of crunchy, sweet broccoli, which are delicious raw…

    To make broccoli batons, first remove the stalks at the base of the florets, then trim the tough ends. Cut the stalks into batons by removing the thick, tough outer layer, using four long cuts with a chef’s knife.

    Duggan, Tara. Root-to-Stalk Cooking: The Art of Using the Whole Vegetable”

    Liked by 1 person

    • foodnstuff Says:

      Everyone seems to like the stems, so it always amuses me to see signs on broccoli in the shops: “if you remove the stems you will be charged”.

      Like

  3. Jane Says:

    I loved eating the peeled stems as a child and I enjoy them just as much now, but sometimes supermarket broccoli stems are not quite so good.

    Like

  4. narf7 Says:

    My mum worked in a market garden WAY back last century when we were kids. I remember the very first broccoli crop that her American employers decided to plant in the state (W.A.) and how amazing it tasted when she brought some home for us to try. I have always adored broccoli ever since. I must admit I am not a fan of anything “rice” other than real rice but I do process broccoli and cauliflower finely to add to my sausage roll mix and you could dehydrate them a lot easier (to add to whatever you like) in this form so I might just give it a go if broccoli EVER goes below $6 a kilo!

    Like

    • foodnstuff Says:

      It’s always expensive here too; the $2.50 was cheap, especially for Coles!

      Liked by 1 person

      • narf7 Says:

        Cole’s here didn’t give us that discount 😦 We get the standard $6 and upwards all year round. I think Cole’s in Tassie makes their profits off us and evens them out in the more populated areas of Australia. Always the way to make the most profit 😦

        Like

  5. Chris Says:

    It’s interesting to read, the enjoyment of broccoli, everyone shares. I like cauliflower more though. Both are enjoyable, but I prefer cauli for some reason.

    I’m fortunate my son has never had a problem eating broccoli. We call them little trees. I actually like those Asian style broccoli, which doesn’t grow a large head, but more like asparagus spears. So you get more of the stem, like asparagus too.

    Now that I’ve read how everyone eats the stems, because they’re sweeter, it’s probably why I enjoy the Asian broccoli stems. I love being able to prepare meals in advance though. I use a lot of grated carrots, in wraps and smoothies, so I like to have a container of pre-grated carrot in the fridge. It’s easier to prepare quick meals.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. yahoo2 Says:

    Thanks, That is a great technique. I’m always looking for new ways of storing a big broc crop for later in the season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

