Capsicum glut

I wish I could claim I’d grown these beauties, but I didn’t :

IMG_2906

My local roadside greengrocer had them for $2.99 per kilo, a real bargain that was too good to pass up. They were grown in Mildura.

I bought a couple of kilos. Some went into the dryer… :

IMG_2907

…and some were pickled :

IMG_2908

I’ve never dried capsicums before so I blanched them by dipping the rings into boiling water for a few seconds. For the pickles, I used the same recipe I use for bread & butter cucumbers, which comes from Suburban Tomato’s website. It’s a winner for cucumbers. I hope it’ll be the same for the capsicums.

2 Responses to “Capsicum glut”

  1. narf77 Says:

    YUM Bev! I love capsicums but only when they are ripe and they are most deliciously ripe indeed. Cheers for sharing how to dry them. I wouldn’t have thought to do that but as my poor struggling capsicums are not performing, I doubt I am going to have a glut this year. Now tomatoes on the other hand…I think it is a good year for tomatoes on Serendipity Farm. 🙂

    Like

  2. Chris Says:

    Wish I could love capsicums like I used to, but have an aversion to nightshades unfortunately. I still loved looking at your preserving efforts though! I’m sure they will serve you well somewhere down the track. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment